Bungee jumping in Valle Verzasca

In July 2013 (yeah… I did a lot in 2013) I did BUNGEE JUMPING!

Valle Verzasca in Ticino, the italian speaking part of Switzerland is very famous for various reasons: well, it’s a beautiful place, and James Bond did bungee jumping from there in the movie “Goldeneye“.

FB_IMG_1476816492773.jpg

It was a beautiful sunny day… so perfect to enjoy a free fall in the nothing.

I was with 3 friends: Jovana, Nadine, Alicia… the third one was the moral supporter. Nadine was super excited… until she actually saw the dam! It impressive! The road to go there has a lot of turn… suddenly, after a curve, we saw it. Wow! And we heard the scream of a person doing the jump.

Well, we arrive, we signed “yes, if something happen is my fault”, they trained us, and…. JUMP!IMG_20161018_203422.jpg

It’s really difficult to describe the sensations… during the first 5 seconds I wasn’t breathing. Free falling is different from the sensation you can have on a roller coaster. Launch ourself towards the nothing is unnatural I think. It’s against our survival instincts.

Then I started to scream and then to think “when the rope will ends?!”.. and boooom! First bounce back! In my case it was a big one because I’m 52kg.

And down again!

The second bounce was small… and then I stop. Head down I enjoyed the peace to be hanging by a 220m dam. I pulled me up I positioned myself in the seat positions with the harness, and I called for the recovery cable. I attached the cable and they pulled me up… also the way up was pretty relaxing.

FB_IMG_1476816453543.jpg

We enjoyed the rest of the afternoon with cold beers and swimming in the cold and crystal water of a river.

I had such a burst of adrenaline… I didn’t sleep for the subsequent nights.

20161018_102720.jpg

Lascia un commento